The London School of Economics and Political Science (informally the London School of Economics or LSE) is a public research university specialised in the social sciences located in London , United Kingdom , and a constituent college of the federal University of London .

Founded in 1895 by Fabian Society members Sidney Webb, Beatrice Webb and George Bernard Shaw , LSE joined the University of London in 1900 and degrees were issued to its students from 1902 onwards.